Reimagining Iron Fist for Marvel’s 80th Anniversary Celebration Part 1

Marvel Comics is celebrating a milestone event with its 80th anniversary which started a day ago. Rather than a one-day celebration, Marvel is having a weeklong series of events and I decided that Iron Fist should be among its most involved participants.

I started a day earlier than Marvel which kicked off its anniversary festivities on Aug. 31, the day Marvel Comics #1 debuted eight decades ago. In one of the promos I joined on their Facebook page, participants were told to make a list of 80 Marvel characters and tell them how we were going to celebrate the event on our own.

The most creative answer will get a Marvel Comics box full of goodies! What’s inside? No one knows and the winner hasn’t been announced yet.

So I made my list and posted it along with a weeklong series of things I would do to promote Marvel’s 80 years. Later, I thought of doing a daily promo with my Iron Fist Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter accounts, with this blog and the next one summarizing the seven days.

Here’s how I celebrated the first three days:

Day 1: 80 Iron Fist Characters and Promo Image

First, I created a promo image of Marvel’s 80 years logo merged with the best Iron Fist headshot ever, illustrated by the inimitable John Byrne.

Iron FIst art by John Byrne

Next, I made a list of 80 characters that were created within Iron Fist’s titles or were most influential to the mythology. Co-creators Roy Thomas and Gil Kane started it all in 1974 and others such as Len Wein, Larry Hama, Doug Moench, Chris Claremont, John Byrne, Ed Brubaker, Matt Fraction, David Aja, Kaare Andrews, Ed Brisson and Mike Perkins have added to the character’s mythos.

Cover illustrated by Gil Kane; Image courtesy of Marvel Comics
Art by David Aja; jumpsuit from the Game of Death movie

Unlike coming up with a list of 80 Marvel characters, which was easy, it took me hours to list down characters who were unique to Iron Fist. Nevertheless, after much perseverance and research, I found my 80 characters!

  1. Daniel Rand
  2. Colleen Wing
  3. Misty Knight
  4. Wendell Rand
  5. Heather Rand aka Silver Dragon
  6. Miranda Rand aka Death Sting
  7. Shakirah
  8. Yu-Ti, the August Personage in Jade (Nu-an)
  9. Lei Kung the Thunderer
  10. Shou-Lou the Undying
  11. The Ninja
  12. Professor Lee Wing
  13. Harold Meachum
  14. Joy Meachum aka Death Sting
  15. Ward Meachum
  16. The Scythe
  17. Jade the Firebird
  18. Dhasha Khan
  19. Bowman aka Lancelot
  20. Princess Azir
  21. Warhawk
  22. Khumbala Bey
  23. Detective Rafael Scarfe
  24. Master Khan
  25. Angar the Screamer
  26. Jeryn Hogarth
  27. Davos the Steel Serpent
  28. Conal D’hu-Tsien
  29. The H’ylthri
  30. Ravager/Radion
  31. Scimitar
  32. Alan Cavenaugh
  33. Chaka the crime lord
  34. Sabretooth
  35. Fera
  36. Chiantang, the Black Dragon
  37. Captain Hero aka Bobby Wright aka the Super-Skrull
  38. Lord Tuan
  39. Orson Randall
  40. Bei Bang Wen
  41. Wu Ao Shi
  42. Dog Brother #1
  43. John Aman, the Prince of Orphans
  44. Fat Cobra
  45. Tiger’s Beautiful Daughter
  46. The Bride of Spiders
  47. Mr. Xao
  48. Zhou Cheng
  49. Ch’i-Lin
  50. Crane Mother
  51. Kwai Jun-Fan
  52. Quan Yaozu
  53. Li Park
  54. Bei Ming-Tian
  55. Wah Sing-Rand, future Iron Fist and youngest at 9 years old
  56. Vivatma Visvajit, the Indian version of Iron Fist
  57. Ernst Erskine
  58. Changming
  59. Pei
  60. Sparrow
  61. Fooh
  62. Brenda Swanson
  63. The One
  64. Zhu-Rong
  65. Fan Fei
  66. Fongji Wu
  67. The Divine Wolf aka The One
  68. The Rat of 12 Plagues
  69. The Long-Armed Bull
  70. The Eel of Blessed Waters
  71. The Resourceful Snake
  72. The Rabbit of Holy Flame
  73. The Mountain-Slaying Bear
  74. Choshin of the House of the Bull
  75. Patience of the House of the Rabbit
  76. Qi of the House of the Snake
  77. Yue of the House of the Rat
  78. Seng of the House of the Eel
  79. Haichun of the House of the Bear
  80. Shu-Hu of the House of the Wolf

Key Supporting Characters:

  1. Luke Cage aka Power Man
  2. Jessica Jones
  3. Danielle Cage
  4. Bob Diamond
  5. Namor
  6. Victor Alvarez aka Power Man II

Day 2: New Iron Fist Costume

I have a confession.

Art by Kaare Andrews; Image courtesy of Marvel Comics

I’m not a fan of the Adidas-looking tracksuit that Danny is wearing now. Sorry, Kaare Andrews.

Though I liked the fact that Andrews’ original colors for the suit were black and yellow (a combination which I love but was rehashed later by others using dark gray or green in place of the black ), I disliked how it made him look like an ordinary jogger.

It works on the image below from Marvel: War of Heroes, though.

Art by Denys Tsiperko for Marvel: War of Heroes

Yes, it’s an homage to Bruce Lee’s iconic yellow and black jumpsuit from his Game of Death movie, but the overall effect didn’t move me at all.

Screenshot of Bruce Lee from Game of Death on YouTube

I’m an artist but drawing superheroes and the human anatomy is quite a challenge for me since I mostly paint inanimate objects. I can copy and draw humans and superheroes well to a certain extent, though.

Anyway, so rather than be frustrated with how I drew the character, I knew that the costume design should be my main focus.

I decided to redesign the costume using J. Scott Campbell’s sketch. I colored it using markers, then scanned and edited it a bit with Photoshop.

Iron Fist art by J. Scott Campbell
Iron Fist art by J. Scott Campbell; costume redesign by Omar Josef Guerrero

The design I wanted for a new suit is one that paid homage to the original while making it look modern. I didn’t want too much of a change as well. The colors are green, golden yellow and black, three hues that have been associated with Iron Fist for the better part of his existence.

Given the chance, I’d like Danny to wear an alternate suit with the colors switched up for a stealth operation, one where the greens are blacks and the blacks are green. I think it would look really cool!

Day 3: New Iron Fist Logo

I desperately want Marvel to give Iron Fist a new ongoing series with a new logo, which I hope they adopt for the comics. Taking inspiration from the Marvel Cinematic Universe’s Black Panther and Moon Knight logos, I designed this with their current aesthetic in mind along with the message I wanted to convey.

Additionally, it’s a design that’s virtually ready for an MCU movie, hopefully, one that will give justice to Danny in the way that the Netflix version did not.

The design is a modern take on the Iron Fist logo using the font Iceberg. It is a fusion of the old and the new, capturing the spirit of the hero who is a product of the 70s kung-fu craze and a present-day superhero tackling today’s challenges with a fiery fist and a staunch spirit.

The logo embodies the dynamic synergy of his eastern background and western lineage, with the cuts on the bold typeface, signifying how his experiences in K’un-Lun seamlessly merged and transformed his rich American poster boy persona.  

The original green is a callback to the original hue from when he was created by Roy Thomas and Gil Kane, and the yellow gold color is a tribute to his New Avengers magic-protected, white and gold costume. The extrusion effect is also a nod to the first logo design.

Iron Fist logo; Image courtesy of Marvel Comics

These subtle juxtapositions are woven into the original design, resulting in a striking logo that pays homage to the past while embracing the present and unlocking the future of Iron Fist.

I have a few more design ideas, but I have a very limited amount of time. Hopefully, I can share them with all of you soon.

Next time, I’ll share with you Days 4 to 7 of my weeklong celebration of Marvel’s 80 years.

LIKE UNTO A THING OF IRON!👊

Published by Omar Guerrero

A comic book reader since 1983 when he was just nine years old, Omar is known throughout the comics community in the Philippines as the biggest Iron Fist fan in the country. He has followed the Living Weapon's adventures wherever that took him. Omar has seen the Living Weapon at his worst and at his best from K'un-Lun, to New York City, to the Seven Capital Cities of Heaven.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started